OSUN SACRED GROOVE: EXPLORING LITTLE THINGS 2

OSUN SACRED GROOVE
Following up the sight-seeing experience by exploring “the little things” in my town, Oshogbo. The first sightseeing experience was at the Nelson Mandela Freedom park, all my experience × photos are here suzanwrites.wordpress.com/2016/09/21/oshogbo-exploring-the-little-things/.

Bisola and I met up at the Osun Sacred groove. For those who know little or nothing about this place, this post is for you.

It is a tourist – friendly arena. It is a large cultural landscape of dense undisturbed forest just outside the Town. The Yoruba name is “Ojubo Osun” and it’s situated at the area called “Isale – Osun”.
The Osun-Oshogbo Festival is usually celebrated at this historical arena every July-August. We arrived around noon and I was actually praying the rain doesn’t fall till I left the groove and it didn’t. The sun came up few minutes later and my Afro glistened in the sun.
We got tickets and two tour guides took us down to the main places.

OSOGBO’S FIRST BUILDING
The first building ever at Oshogbo.
It was the first building to have housed the royal members and basically the first residents of Oshogbo.

image

image

This would be ages ago and yet the building remained strong. A woman and a young man were at the entrance when we got there and one of the guides bowed down to the building and to a an idol. He said the idol is a mythical being who helps on any issues concerning matrimony. The river goddess, Osun is a goddess of fertility. Pretty cool, right?

OSUN RIVER

image

image

image

image

Then we headed to the Osun River, the tourist mentioned how crowded this river used to be at every Osun-Osogbo festival with people from all around the world throwing gifts, food items name it – anything. Its all for the river goddess, Osun.
The river was quite overflowing today due to the rainy season. The tour guides didn’t hesitate to dip their feet at the river basin. While bisola and I stayed at a safe distance taking photos. The tour guides picked few snails from the river bank. They were different from regular snails and were really beautiful.

THE BRIDGE
The bridge across the river was one place I was actually fascinated by. The existence of this thousands-of-decade -old bridge is still a marvel.

image

image

As we crossed the bridge, it was rather shaky and scary yet we were told by the guides it was nothing to worry about. Tell that to my trembling bowels, was what I said inside of me. I was scared but I actually did cross this bridge, twice!
TIP: DON’T LOOK DOWN AT THE RIVER WHEN CROSSING.

image

At this point, I took photos of few of artifacts, shrines and sculptures including the three huge artifacts built by the late Suzanne Wenger – “Adunni Olorisha”

image

image

image

From the thick forest to the jumping monkeys and artistic figures and sculptors, visiting the Osun scared groove was really a fun and educative experience for Bisola and I.
Eventually we had to leave and I crossed it off my list of “places to explore”

image

PS: One of the workers asked if we were there to seek spiritual or fertility guidance from the goddess. I smiled, shook my head and said, “it is just sightseeing sir.”

image

image

image

image

image

image

Any ideas on where to go next? I’ve got few on my list but who knows we can add more 🙂

2 thoughts on “OSUN SACRED GROOVE: EXPLORING LITTLE THINGS 2

Add yours

  1. Hi Susan. Love your exploration of Osun tales. Makes me want to explore too. And I see you’re getting better at photography.
    P.s: There’s this blurring thing around your pictures. Probably the editing app. It makes the picture look less clearer. Perhaps you could change it to black or white. The background that is. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

