(POETRY) – GODDESS OF DOOM

SUZAN writes…

The lady doctor asks me every Sunday after breakfast and pills,
her big eyes hiding behind the spectacles,
to describe how I feel.
But I don’t know how to
I close my eyes and I see it, it’s like a colour with no hue
I can feel it in my bones
I can taste it in my beads of sweat
I can smell it in her breath
But I can’t paint it with the words of my tongue

Fear, she calls it.
With just one syllable
as though it is a tiny being

I scoff
it is never tiny
what I see, she can’t see
pinning me to my metal bed,
This one syllabic word is a goddess
goddess of doom
carrying in it’s belly
an ocean of unborn dreams.
        ~Susanah Omohunola Ajiboye

You want to catch up on other related posts? Check the links below!

TRANSPARENT.

WHO CAN REALLY FIT IN?

THE WINDOW BLINDS

2 thoughts on “(POETRY) – GODDESS OF DOOM

Add yours

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

