BEING 20 ISN’T WHAT I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE.

While I was growing up, I had thought those who were in their twenties were the real MVPs. I don’t know if I was the only one who felt that way but indulge my younger self a little.

image

I thought once I was twenty, I had that freedom that a eight-year-old me couldn’t have. I can leave my parents’ house whenever I want and come home without being bombarded with questions. I get to eat whatever I want and I will have my own house because I  will be big so mummy and daddy won’t have to treat me like a kid.
Oh! I thought once I am twenty, I will finally get to meet my “Prince Charming” and we will both live happily ever after… you know those fairytale B.S.
I really thought being 20 means you are old enough to do anything by yourself and for yourself.
ME: *TO MY 8-YEAR-OLD SELF*
         YOU WERE WRONG!
lol.

THIS IS THE REALITY
It definitely didn’t turn out that way. Not for me at least.

image

At 20, I am still a university student struggling to graduate just because my school has been on an indefinite strike that doesn’t seem to be definite anytime soon.
At 20, I still live with my parents’ and I cook all the meals and wash all the dishes because well, who will? (This is why I can’t fix fake nails to save my life)
At 20, no Prince Charming is coming this way! Perhaps, he is on his way who knows? We’ll see.

Anyways, the point is life didn’t turn out the way I had imagined it would be twelve years ago. Lets face it, it wasn’t realistic! I was so naive… but who wasn’t?
      
You sure had a (mental) note filled       with plans to your older self while you were young? Lets talk about it and how far you’ve grown since then. 🙂

Follow me on instagram @blackprowriter
Sue.
Xx.

7 thoughts on “BEING 20 ISN’T WHAT I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE.

Add yours

  1. Okay. Leh me just start by saying that I sincerely enjoyed reading your post. It’s quite true that a whole lot of we young adults created mental pictures of how we saw ourselves at cer

    Like

  2. Okay. Leh me just start by saying that I sincerely enjoyed reading your post. It’s quite true that a whole lot of us created mental pictures while we were still kids of how we saw ourselves or wanted to see our self in the nearest future. The sad reality is some of us entered into that future we so fantasized about only to realize that we were yet to become and achieve everything we thought we would have become or achieved at that point in our lives. I for one always dreamed of becoming an international music star at 25. I’m 25 now and yet to even achieve local stardom😁 I won’t say it’s our fault tho, like we didn’t work hard enough or do the proper things we were supposed to do at the proper time. It’s obviously just the way life is.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My mental note at 17: Graduate college at 21. Graduate from graduate school at 22. Work and get my shit together and get married at 25.
    Life: LOL!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

