FIRST POST: REDEFINING THE BLOG

SUZAN writes…

image

It feels so good to be able to type “HAPPY NEW YEAR”. I am so glad things turned out this way. I’m still here and you, my lovely readers are still here too. Isn’t that amazing?
The first day of 2017 was amazing. I spent it with family of course and it was lovely. Food and laughter were present and nothing beats food and laughter on January 1, right?

image

Okay, to the reason for this post. There has been a lot of soul searching this past year and I feel I have grown up a lot, so has my blog. Which is why I thought it would be an amazing idea to redefine my blog. I remembered I wrote here that I want to work on my blog aesthetics and design, also I want to work on getting my domain.
I also wrote down my plan of structuring the blog. I believe placing each post to a category that suits it makes into an organised blog plan, for the readers because they know which category they enjoy reading most and for me, I get to plan each post accordingly and broaden my horizon creatively.
Here are the categories

LIFE
Being a storyteller makes it easier to study the world both in and out and bring out stories in the simplest scenes imaginable, like two school boys running down the street with torn uniforms and clattering water bottles and yet reciting the periodic table as though they discovered it. One can see this as an ordinary scene but I see a tale of desire for a greater purpose in spite a terrible life ordeal.
Stories could also be about me, lesson learnt on triumphs and defeat as a growing adult.

ARTS
Because it is every artsy writer’s dream to write about given opportunities to attend artistic events. As fiction and nonfiction has gripped my soul since I was a kid, so as a room filled with paintings and sculptures. I live for a scene like this.
Art is definitely a broad field and while I am still learning new forms under Arts that I didn’t have interest in earlier on, I absolutely love to write about arts and culture (non limited to African culture) because I believe there is colour in culture and writing about these will be a treat.

BLACK GIRL MAGIC
You can’t deny the beauty in melanin and the magic wrapped around a lady girl (this is the only instance I love referring to myself as a girl because melanin to me is ageless) with afro hair.
I have never thought my hair would make a statement in my life, and so I don’t think I will stop writing about that part of me – every kinky-defying gravity step of the way.

COLLABORATION
It is always a bright idea to liken your thoughts with people who understands your point of view and in many cases they make a blog post out of me. There will be room for collabs, guest posts, and brand partnership this year also because it is important to surround yourself with people who will push you to think outside the box.

BOOKS
I could have shed a tear or two last year when I realized I wouldn’t make it to any book fair or art festival but then I told myself there is always room for improvement. Which is why I have been visiting the public library in my town for free books to read and so opening myself to opportunities to go to any arts festivals and book fairs and then write about them.

SCHOOL STRUGGLE
Being a student at a university of technology has to be a tale worth sharing because of it’s one-sided experience. As difficult it is to find inspiration in it, I am pushing myself to look beyond what I see in my school.

WISH LISTS
Every now and then, I often wish I could get one thing or the other which would help me be a better blogger, writer and a human being in general. Writing them down helps to set my mind in planning towards having them. Besides, readers can learn from it too and they are good conversation starters when we want the same things.

WEIGHT LOSS JOURNEY
I wrote about my struggle of loosing weight here and my dream weight loss goal is something I want to work on. By sharing my experience through it all will help get more inspiration from you and for myself.

Other categories will be
SHORT STORIES
REVIEWS OF PRODUCTS, PLACES.
A LOOK BACK INTO A MONTH OF BLOGGING
INSPIRATION, QUOTES
BLOG SURVEY

This is one challenge to myself that I will try all my best to do because I have decided to take this seriously.
When someone asked me why I write, I paused and said, “Because it is the only thing I can’t give up on because it makes me feel alive.”

What makes you feel alive?

Happy new year folks.

Susanah. Xx.

P’S: I HAVE THOUGHT OF CHANGING MY URL FROM “SUZAN WRITES” TO “BLACKPROWRITER. WORDPRESS.COM” ,BUT I DON’T KNOW IF IT WILL MAKE ME LOSE REGULAR READERS. ANY ADVICE PLEASE?

5 thoughts on “FIRST POST: REDEFINING THE BLOG

Add yours

Leave a Reply

