VOICES WITHIN THE WALLS || POETRY FOR THE #SAVELAUTECH 2

It was a choice, my choice.

IMG_1502

”To believe in a place thought to be desolate

because even dry bones can rise anew

Chances are given to dreary places

because even if the bad spots remain very visible

we still give life a chance

we still give desolate places a chance.

LAUTECH was a choice

to believe in a place tongues waved off

as unyielding.

Now, my choice is being dragged in the mud

like used toilet paper.

What else can you lay on me?

You stretched a school year into two

did you think the students would not notice?

or did you feel they would not care?

You have made me stay home for months that seemed like years

staring at each day for good news from you.

A paused education is no better than no education.

Do I sound angry?

or sad?

or is it frustration you feel off my words?

what i feel is bit of the three

all mashed up in my tender heart

IMG_1536

 

Yet, what is life without hope?

why would I come this far and not have

within me a fickle of hope?

It propels me forward

my voice matters more

now more than ever.

To be the woman i want to be

i have to believe that hope

really will come to this place.”

BLACKPROWRITER

Temitope believes in this.

What do you believe in?

Let us tell your story.

Support the #savelautech movement today.

MUSE: TEMITOPE

PHOTOGRAPHER: TOBILOBA OLUWAROTIMI

 

 

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

