VOICES WITHIN THE WALLS 3|| POETRY FOR THE #SAVELAUTECH MOVEMENT

IMG_1529
ENIOLA FOR VOICES WITHIN THE WALLS

Long stretch of wooden seats slamming one after the other

noises and chatters of friends, of mates,

echoes of professors resounding from the speakers

scribbles on my notes and my phone on the other hand

texts from my friends for after-school plans

closing my eyes each night, knowing the sun will come up

and I am one step forward to being a graduate …

And then strike happened.

I was asked where was my favorite spot in LAUTECH

and I said it was the halls

I love them and I miss them all so much.

Right now, I walk these streets that surround this school,

the buildings and the halls

Emptiness has taken hold and echoes talk back to me in the halls

Is it a crime to pursue education?

Lord, I feel so sad,

I am tired of answering questions from outsiders about a problem I did not ask for;

about a situation I cannot control.

Ogbomoso was a home, LAUTECH was an escape

but now I am not so sure anymore.

 

 

IMG_1489
Eniola for the #savelautech movement

 

You want to know what I want?

I want to believe my voice matters

I want this strike to end

#bringback my favorite place

Let the lost feeling fade away.

I know my hope is a start to a better future.

 

Eniola believes in this

what do you believe in?

SUPPORT THE #SAVELAUTECH MOVEMENT TODAY.

YOU CAN LEND YOUR VOICE AND MAKE A DIFFERENCE

MUSE: ENIOLA

PHOTOGRAPHER: TOBILOBA OLUWAROTIMI

WRITTEN BY: BLACKPROWRITER

4 thoughts on “VOICES WITHIN THE WALLS 3|| POETRY FOR THE #SAVELAUTECH MOVEMENT

Add yours

  1. Eish! 🙁😥 I hate this strick business. This is just not fair…! Meanwhile look at it as an opportunity to gain skills.. internship perhaps? Or other skilful entrepreneurial career?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Grace. We all are doing extra things at home to occupy our time but like the previous poem says “a paused education is no education at all”. We all feel stuck and soon people will start dropping out. hopefully things will change before then.

      Like

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

