VOICES WITHIN THE WALLS 4 || POETRY FOR THE #SAVELAUTECH MOVEMENT

 

IMG_1604
PROGRESS FOR #SAVELAUTECH MOVEMENT

Have you heard of passion or smelt its presence?

have you wanted something so much, it comes alive in your dream every night?

so much so that it consumes you and you spend every waking minutes working towards it becoming a reality?

have you loved something so much it becomes a part of you?

have you longed for a future that you could almost grasp it with your bare hands?

Let me tell you about loss

loss is a feeling of  ”I was almost there but then something happened”

Because your story ended at ”almost”

This is how I felt as I watched my school close down

My passion to save lives is more that what you can see

it is more than the Stethoscope

the ties

the shoes

the struggle

the sweat

the late night studying

My passion to save lives was inspired by my mother

it was as though it was sewn into me

because for as long as i can remember

watching her save lives made me believe that I could do this.

I do not know who is to be blamed for the stagnancy

this paused education

But I do know bricks and stones cannot break my bones

You cannot take my dream away from me

It is mine

it has been mine before LAUTECH offered me an admission.

 

IMG_1556
photography by LOBA

 

IMG_1616
photography by LOBA

 

Have you heard of passion or smelt its presence?

have you wanted something so much, it comes alive in your dream every night?

Only then will you understand my pain

and believe in my hope

that LAUTECH must be saved.

Progress is a medical student of LAUTECH, Ogbomoso and he believes in this movement as much as many students across Nigeria. We need a change, we need results. Progress believes in this. What do you believe in?

PHOTOGRAPHY BY @_loba

WRITTEN BY @blackprowriter

For the #SAVELAUTECH movement.

 

 

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

