DIY PROTEIN/DEEP CONDITIONING ON NATURAL HAIR || WHAT YOU MUST KNOW

I have been natural for one year and eight months. I am at this stage where I am comfortable with my hair texture. There are some days as a female with 4c hair that one feels frustrated with the thickness and coarseness of 4c hair, but I have come to realise that this is the beauty of my texture.

4c hair is tightly coiled and sometimes thick but when taken care of with the essential oils and water, it bounces off with life. 

Deep conditioning(the olive oil method) is often a quick but detailed process of reinstalling the moisture that ones hair has lost. Because I am such a fan of DIY, I use the natural and home-made products to deep condition my hair once in a month. 

It is a simple process which include;

  • Honey 
  • Shea butter 
  • Olive oil 
  • Coconut oil 
  • Water 

The mixture of all these in a bowl should have a regular consistency which means not too thick, not too watery. Just slimy! After sectioning the hair into preferably four sections, apply the mixture into your hair. You can twist each section or leave it in a knot; whichever works for your length. Let your hair absorb it for few minutes, rinse it out and moisturize with a leave in conditioner of your choice.

Viola!

Protein conditioning on the other hand can get really slimy and stinky because of the one important item – Egg. Egg is one good source of protein essential to the body, right? It is also good for the hair!

Yup!

Products include; 

  • Egg
  • Olive oil
  • Honey 
  • Mayonnaise 

As you can see in the image above, this was before I whisked them all together which is going to stink by the way. 

After applying these into your already sectioned hair, cover with a plastic bag or a nylon shower cap. After I did this, I waited for two hours. Meanwhile, you can finish up with other stuffs while you wait. I did a face scrub.

I rinsed it out in the shower, dried it and then massage my scalp with my moisturizing cream – hair moisture by El-glittas – it is amazing guys. Anyone tried their products kit yet?

I wish I was able to take photos of these steps, my photographer (my brother) wasn’t available to take these photos. But I was able to get the aftermath result.

The mixture left my hair shiny and bouncy. You really should try it. It is not an everyday thing, just once in a while but it always leaves your hair radiant.

Let me know if you would try this at home.

Have you used the El-glittas Hair moisture? It is in the picture above. Let me know your thoughts. 

I was thinking of turning this into a permanent menu. If you’d wish to read more natural hair stuff from me,let me know in the comment section below.

Susanah. Xx.

12 thoughts on “DIY PROTEIN/DEEP CONDITIONING ON NATURAL HAIR || WHAT YOU MUST KNOW

Add yours

    1. It’s really not that difficult really. To while away time, I just turn on a tutorial video on YouTube or just watch a movie while I’m twisting my hair. It’s really fun to do. Try it please and let me know. Thanks for the compliment too!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. First of all, you’re and amazing writer and I must say that your natural hair is so beautiful. Thanks for the tips. Would definitely try it out. I use the El-glittas hair products, their shampoo, oil and cream. Their products are nice and affordable. I also would love to read more stuffs on natural hair from you.

    Like

    1. Oh thank you so much Vickie!!! I am looking forward to hearing you try these tips. Me too!!! Their products are really nice too. Yay! I’d definitely write more natural hair stuffs from now on.

      Like

    1. Hey Hon! You can combine your Shea butter with olive oil and whisking it for a while. Or you could buy one of those Shea butter that are not in solid forms. The refined ones. It is just easier that way compared to the solid ones because they’d harden eventually even of you heat them up. I hope this helps.

      Like

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

